Monday, 17 September 2007


(Secretly Canadian, 2007)
Disc one:

01 Sundowner
02 Long, Long Stem
03 Dumb Stories
04 Excavation
05 The Catcher in the Whole Wheat
06 My Little Tool
07 Lawrence Welk Plaster Caster (Part Two)
08 Firewood
09 Stoned Indifference
10 Second Virginity
11 Pupil
12 Fountain of Youth
13 In Protest
14 Ripe Grape
15 Womenopause
16 Save Your Breath
17 Dreams Are Hard to Follow
18 Gone

Disc two:

01 That Parade
02 Brain Slide (Craniology)
03 Me Another Baby Panther
04 Cardinal Virtues
05 (Born Into) Cynosure
06 Co-op Tune
07 Litany
08 Tina Turner (The Devil Is Sorry)
09 Snellgrove Sucks
10 Death of My "Significant Other" (By God)
11 Forever
12 Sample and Hold
13 Birthday Present
14 Get Up
15 Pin Coffin
16 Spin the Awful

Disc three:

01 Recipes
02 There Is a Tool
03 All Girls
04 Required Thinking Exercise
05 Come In From the Cold
06 Dancing on the Graves of Those We Loved
07 Fuck the Inconceivable (Everybody Wants to Die Happy)
08 Happy Medium
09 The Sad & the Stupid
10 Nuke in Fridge
11 Jesus-Christ-Fucka-Sucka-Mobile
12 Satan Star
13 The Moon and the Memories
14 Space God/Jen's 1.4
15 3rd Grade
16 Lonely for Lonely's Sake
17 The Intro
18 Hate Yr Blues

"June Panic spent six years during the early 1990s crafting 14 lyrically disturbed and sonically self-mutilated albums that would make him the closest thing to an underground rock songwriting celebrity that the Dakotas would bear during this era otherwise obsessed with grunge. While scratching an itch for Dylan that could not be alleviated, June willed his bedroom songs into musical nuggets that find tonal residence between the hazy fog of Ween and Sebadoh, the great white isolationism of Eric's Trip, and the everything-and-the-kitchen-sink production style of '80s-era Prince.

The material embodied on Songs From Purgatory was recorded in vans, dank basements and tiny apartments in Grand Forks & Fargo, North Dakota using crappy microphones on an even crappier 4-track machine. This body of work showcases a songwriting and producing talent that perhaps was only commercially held back by its medium - one which he initially embraced as a matter of necessity, but eventually grew to deliberately embrace with the zeal of a lo-fi revolutionary. According to June, "Over time, I came to appreciate the sounds I was getting, and it dawned on me that recording in an expensive studio is not somehow inherently superior to 'lo-fi' recordings - it is simply a different medium."

Originally released as cassette-only albums on his own label 3 Out Of 4 Records, June's master tapes were almost destroyed in the Great Flood of 1997 that consumed Grand Forks. Over 200 master tapes sat submerged under the murky Red River water for several days in his parents' basement until saved through a painstaking cleansing process that is hilariously documented in the liner notes to this collection. Brought into this world by June, taken out by the Flood, then brought back by June, these songs have been re-mastered by the able hands of the iconic KRAMER."

No comments: