Sunday, 2 September 2007


01 our friends appear like the dawn
02 these are the eyes
03 it moves
04 I guess I'll forget the sound, I guess, I guess
05 I heard it sound
06 doves circled the sky
07 roar, roar, roar
08 hear comes my hand
09 we will be apart
10 it is familiar
11 we coughed up honey
12 I turned my face
13 we are co-existors

"Bodies of Water are a Los Angeles quartet—equal parts girl and boy—who take on as many as seven extra members when they play. This enables the band to inflate their tunes into full-bodied kumbayas that make big nods to the Polyphonic Spree and Arcade Fire. In their quieter moments, though, Bodies of Water’s songs reveal themselves to be rooted in indie folk pop, somewhere in between the tight harmonies of the Mamas and the Papas and the otherworldly tones of Animal Collective. Bodies of Water are seldom content to remain contained, however. Sooner or later, every song on Ears Will Pop & Eyes Will Blink gains momentum, takes off, and soars. Sometimes they come back to earth; other times, they burst into bright lights. This glorious grandiosity is their aim, and the band hits the mark more often than not. These California dreamers are definitely on the right track." Pop Matters

1 comment:

L said...

That description does a good job of capturing their sound, though I think closer to PSpree than Arcade Fire. And that indie pop element is essential (to my ears, anyway). Their are not many bands that even attempt to pack so many elements into one song, and fewer still that manage to pull it off. Can't wait to hear this record. Many thanks for the post.